Writing

5 Ways to Prepare for the First Day of School


Okay, I’m still not excited about the fact that school is less than a month away, and that in less than a month I’ll have to go sit at a desk and do work, but I don’t want to deprive anyone of back to school posts, so here this is!!

Plus, I love back to school videos and posts myself, so I wouldn’t want to go ahead and not make that possible for any of you.

And maybe, I’m getting a little used to the idea of school coming back- EW, THAT SOUNDS HORRIBLE, NOPE- so I’d like to share FIVE ways to prepare for the first day of school!!



Now, if you go to a school that makes you wear uniforms like me, then this point won’t apply to you. 

But do you do go to a school that allows you to wear whatever, then I’d suggest to pick out your outfit a couple days in advance, just to make sure that you have your hairstyle and your outfit in check.

Try it on as well, because you don’t want any mistakes happening, nor do you want the morning to be hectic with you trying to create a new outfit. It’ll save you the trouble.



You don’t want to be in that awkward situation when the teacher asks you to bring out a supply; one that you thought that you bought. 

But when you go and search through your backpack to check if you bought that supply, you don’t have it. 

It’ll just give the teacher the first impression that you’re unorganized and not a prepared person, when you want the teacher to see you in a completely different light.

Make sure you have all the supplies, and if you don’t know what to buy ask a friend who’s been through the grade that you’re currently entering.



With having to think about your outfit and your hair, I’m sure one thing to slip your mind was food.

And not just lunch for the first day, but lunch for the whole week. 

You could pre-cook meals and leave them in your fridge for the rest of the week, or you can just buy pre-made meals. Either way, find some way to get your lunches for the week. 

 But do not make the mistake of making the lunches each night before. You’ll probably have homework, and the lunches you’ll make the night before won’t be as healthy or as filling if you make it rushed and quickly.



If you’re planning to play a sport this school year, then do not wait too long, because some sports have spots you have to fill and applications you have to get signed and such, and it would be a real shame if you couldn’t play because you forgot to fill out some papers.

Also, some have due dates, and you want to get those in by those dates, so I’d suggest to go on your school website to check out the due date for the papers and such.

But also, remember to buy the sports supplies that you need to play, because again, it would also be awkward if you were that one person who didn’t have cleats, or the jersey. 



And last, but definitely not least, remember to go ahead and complete the summer reading. 

With all the preparing, I can tell that it would make sense if you forgot to do the summer reading work assigned by your teacher.

The summer reading work is a major part of your grade, and you definitely do not want to forget to do that, especially when it’s the first grade of the semester that you’ll be graded on. 

And again, it’ll just give your teacher the impression that you’re naturally a student who forgets to do their work, and you don’t want that to be their first impression of you, especially at a new school.
And with all that said, I’m sure that you all will have a great first day of school, if you haven’t started your school year yet. 



When do you go back to school? 

Have you gotten any of your suitcase or supplies yet?

I’d love to know, so I can properly write and schedule my posts, so you can all get the best tips and tricks before the school year starts!

Until next time.. 

16 thoughts on “5 Ways to Prepare for the First Day of School

  1. Hey Gianna!
    You have a cool blog. πŸ™‚
    I was wondering if you could follow me? The link to my blog is: anotebookonepenandme.wordpress.com. It would be very appreciated. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I cannot relate to most of these. We have uniforms so…there goes that. Sports dosen’t really need to be checked and all. Most people eat from the school Canteen and we don’t have summer reading…SO I CANNOT RELATE?

    Though yes for supplies check! I love stationery shopping and I definitely need to make sure I get the right equipment.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I finished school (and college) 2 years ago so although I won’t be using these tips anymore, I can soo remember the back to school feeling after having all summer off! These are really handy tips and a lot of them are what my mum used to tell me too! Great read πŸ™‚ X

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Really enjoyed reading this! 😍😍 I go to school on the 6th of September! And No, I still haven’t bought all my back-to-school supplies (yet)! πŸ˜ŠπŸ™ˆ Anyway, this was very useful & interesting! πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, happy that this helped!! 😊 I’m doing much more back to school posts, so I am happy that they’re going to help someone!! Good thing that you’re going back later, you have all the time to prepare!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

