Bookish

Discussion: Summer Reading- Is it Useful Or A Waste of Time?


Summer Reading.

Two words, but those words can can cause an uprising of stress and annoyance in a school student, or an uprising of excitement and happiness in a school student.

Who knew two words could cause such waves of emotions?

Anyways, this subject popped into my head as I was thinking about it, because recently my dad showed me an email that explained the summer reading for my new school.

So far, I don’t like the names of the books, but I’m sure when I read them my opinion will change, hopefully for the good.

But it got me thinking, is summer reading a waste of time or is it useful?

From what I heard- from one of my good teachers- they had told me that schools only make the students attending said school to do summer reading to make the school look better.

And even though that may be true, I still stand by my belief that summer reading now has become more important now, than it was in the future.

Kids nowadays are dropping away from books and are moving towards the alternative- technology.

Why read books when you have the accessibility to go watch the book?

Summer reading now has become the only way students in school who are not interested in books are able to read a book. Without this influence, I’m positive that these people would completely forget the library and turn to the technological options.

In fact, that’s sadly where things are slowly turning. I can actually count on one hand of how many friends that I know who actually enjoy reading books. That’s quite upsetting that this is the reality.

Book were our future, they helped us write, they helped us form this world. Books are so important to the older generation, and that shouldn’t be taken away from the children who will grow up in the future years. Those children deserve everything that we have in our time, it’s not fair to them to take it away. And it’s even worse to just take it away because we don’t think that it’s useful anymore.

Summer reading may just be schoolwork, but it’s much more than that. It’s helping revive the world that has managed to detach itself from books. It’s giving kids the chance to read a book- and the books are usually just classics, which gives them a chance to see the original books- and write a paper about it, on their thoughts on it.

BOOKS ARE NEEDED. DO NOT EVER THROW AWAY THOSE PRECIOUS PIECES OF PAPER BINDED TOGETHER WITH WORDS WRITTEN ON THEM. I mean, they’re already becoming our future with these blogs, how we write on them and people read them.

Do me the favor and always keep reading.

img_1862-5

Until next time…

Miss Dino, The Dinosaur Enthusiast.

 

img_1839

 

17 thoughts on “Discussion: Summer Reading- Is it Useful Or A Waste of Time?

  1. Even though I like reading (I try to read at least 10 books over the summer) I just don’t like writing a book report. I simply just like reading the books, nothing else. It’s not like I’m against the program, but I want to enjoy my summer a bit more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed. But in my perspective, I see that for the students who don’t read a lot or dislike reading, the summer reading program is very helpful for them, because it gets them into the mood of reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. With the exception of “Anna Karenina” and “Huckleberry Finn,” I always found my summer reading books to be enjoyable. Even if I didn’t like them at the time, when I went back and reread them later (like “Night” and “Fahrenheit 451”), they became some of my favorites.

    What books are on your school reading list? You mention you don’t like the titles, but you never actually named them. I worked in a bookstore for nearly three years, and helping kids find their summer reading books was one of my favorite times, because I got to help them figure out which one they would enjoy the most. (I do like it when schools do “pick one from each category” type of reading lists, because it gives people more options to find what they want.)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Agreed, most of my summer reading books I’ve been suggested or assigned have been okay, and if it okay they’ve been one of my favorites.
      The books on my summer reading list are ‘The Giver’, ‘Great Expectations’, and ‘Forgotten Fire’. I’ve only read The Giver before, but the title that seems suspicious to me is the ‘Forgotten Fire’, that’s definitely the title that I dislike.

      I agree! Picking from one category just makes it so easy for me, because at my old school they’d let us pick one from both lists, from fiction and nonfiction. It makes it so much fun when they allow that.

      Like

      1. Are you kidding? “Forgotten Fire” sounds like an amazing title. I’d be sorely disappointed if it turned out to be terrible. From a quick Google search, it seems like it’s interesting (and based on a true story!) so I hope that one ends up being great to you.

        I read “The Giver” and hated it. I’m not a fan of Lois Lowry in general. I liked “Number the Stars,” but that was also during my World War II obsession (during which I read everything related to WWII/the Holocaust during middle school…about 12 years ago…).

        I never had to read “Great Expectations,” but my sister did, so I know that one’s going to be a drag. I’ve got it sitting on my shelf as part of a collection (Books-a-Million has a nice classics set that I collected), but I’ve never cracked it open.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well, I’ve been disappointed many time by books having the greatest titles, like Forgotten Fire, but having the books be not as good and just full on upsetting me. I hope so as well!
        Personally I loved The Giver, although I don’t mind that much that it’s not your favorite.
        Great Expectations I’ve never heard of in general, so interested and curious to see what it’s about.
        Thank you for commenting.

        Like

  3. Very good rant, and a worthy subject too. Who cares if the school only does the summer reading to make them look good, the end result is the important thing. More teenagers reading rather than glued to their phones has to be a good thing. Are you set books or given a list of suggested books to read?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Reading is better than being glued to their phones, and if schools are only doing it for to look good, then it doesn’t matter because there’s still a pro.
      We were given a suggested list, but now it’s set books.

      Like

Leave a Reply

